College Council

College Council

Statement of Purpose

To facilitate communication and serve as a forum to exchange information that affects the college community.

Strategic Initiative C – Collaboration:  Advance an effective process of collaboration and collegial consultation conducted with integrity and respect to inform and strengthen decision-making.

2017/18 College Council Goals

  1. Conduct an annual evaluation of college-wide progress on Strategic Initiative C.
  2. Implement the timeline for the development and completion of legally-required policies.
  3. Participate in regular updates regarding El Camino College and Compton College transition planning
  4. Provide input and engage in discussion regarding the development of an equity-minded culture at El Camino College.
  5. Review and share data received as part of the community and college perceptions study which will inform the development of the next Strategic Plan.
  6. Review and endorse college-wide plans such as the Guided Pathways Plan, the Integration Plan for BSI/SSSP/SEP, Enrollment Management Plan, and other plans.


College Council meets on the first and third Mondays from 1:30 - 2:30 p.m. in Library 202. During spring break and summer session College Council meets only on Board meeting days.

Future Meeting Dates

Mondays at 1:30 p.m. in Library 202 unless otherwise noted:

July 16, 2018   August 20, 2018
September 3, 2018   September 17, 2018
October 1, 2018   October 15, 2018
November 5, 2018   November 19, 2018
December 3, 2018   December 17, 2018


Chair: Dr. Dena P. Maloney, Superintendent/President

Note taker:  Rose Mahowald, President's Office





Daniel-DiGregorio, Kristie

Academic Senate Representative  

Fahnestock, Brian

Vice President Representative 

Graff, Irene

Management Representative

Amber Gillis/

Jesse Mills

Compton College Faculty Representative 

Jeffries, Chris

ECCFT Representative

Mahowald, Rose

Confidential Representative

Maloney, Dena


Miyashiro, Jane

Vice President Representative 

Miyashiro, Ross

Vice President Representative 

Shankweiler, Jean

Vice President Representative

Solorzano, Erika

Police Officers Association Representative

Turano, Debbie

ECCE Representative 

Taylor-Pearce, Chinua

ASO Representative