

NEWS

El Camino College | Public Relations & Marketing Department 16007 Crenshaw Blvd., Torrance, CA 90506 Contact: Ann M. Garten, Director, Community Relations Telephone: (310) 660-3406 | E-Mail: agarten@elcamino.edu

For Immediate Release

April 6, 2009

El Camino College Journalism Program Wins Prestigious "Pacesetter" Award

For the first time in nine years, the El Camino College journalism program won a Pacesetter Award at the recent Journalism Association of Community Colleges (JACC) annual convention in Sacramento.

"I had a great time working with the students," said Lori Medigovich, journalism professor and adviser to the *Union*. "They did an amazing job winning so many awards and winning the Pacesetter for the first time since 2000. I could not be more proud."

The Pacesetter, given to colleges that "set the pace" for the rest, was awarded to only five of the 55 California colleges attending the convention. Participating colleges brought more than 600 students and faculty to the convention that included dozens of workshops covering all aspects of journalism as well as on-the-spot writing, editing, designing, and photography competitions.

The JACC 2009 convention was an opportunity for students to attend more than 70 workshops, network with professionals and compete in journalism-related contests.

In addition to the Pacesetter Award, El Camino College's *Union* newspaper and *Warrior Life Magazine* each won a General Excellence Award. Fourteen other awards were given out to current and former members of the *Union* and *Warrior Life* staffs.

On-the-spot awards won by El Camino College students are as follows: first place Broadcast News Writing, Aaron Dobruck; honorable mention Copy Editing, Megan Taros; first place Feature Story, Suzy Brown; fourth place Sports Photo, Filip Jerzycke; and first place Sports Story, Nick Ingram.

The mail-in awards won by *Warrior Life* include: first place for Magazine Feature, Pearl Sheets; second place for Magazine Opinion Story, Miyu Kataoka; and honorable mention for Magazine Opinion, Monique Long.

Mail-in awards won by the *Union* are: honorable mention Column Writing, Megan Taros; third place Critical Review, Aaron Dobruck; fourth place Editorial Cartoon, Fred Kim; third place Illustration, Fred Kim; fourth place Inside Page Layout, *Union* staff; and honorable mention Profile Feature Story, Jose Benito Garcia.

"We are journalists for the *Union* newspaper, but our experiences at this recent JACC made us that much more of a union," said Miyu Kataoka, editor-in-chief of the ECC student newspaper. "We had a lot of fun and we became better journalists through attending workshops and competitions."