Warrior Athletics

Cross Country
El Camino College athletic teams ended the Fall 2014 season with a strong finish. In cross country, the Warriors competed at the state championships, where Teddy Kassa placed sixth overall for the men and the men’s team placed 10th overall. Kassa’s time of 20:23 is the third fastest in ECC history on the current state course, which the team has used since 1996. Kassa was also named the South Coast Conference cross country athlete of the year. The women finished 23rd.
> View Results

Men's Soccer
The men’s soccer team earned the No. 3 seed in the Southern California playoffs and hosted No. 14 Southwestern in the first round. The Jaguars upset the Warriors 2-1 to end ECC’s magical season. Head coach John Britton was named SCC Coach of the Year. Garett Bucheli, Branddon Cando, Emmanuel Corona and Andy Nunez were named to the first team. Charlie Gonzalez, Derrick Hamilton, Daniel Muro and Jose Sanchez earned second-team honors and Victor Guerrero was named honorable mention.
> View Results

Women's Soccer
In women’s soccer, three Warriors earned all-conference honors. Freshman Rylie Cole was named to the first team, Ashley Mercado earned second-team honors and Kendall Collard earned honorable mention.
> View Results

Women's Volleyball
Women’s volleyball completed its conference sweep for the first time since 2011, earning the No. 4 seed in the Southern California. The team finished an excellent season with a loss to Irvine Valley College in the regional championship match at Irvine Valley. Head Coach Le Valley Pattison was named the SCC Coach of the Year. Sophomore Kim Haney was named the conference Player of the Year. Nicole Echeverri, Darlene Lee, Nickeisha Williams and Sadie Fraker earned first-team honors and Brooke Russell and Laynie Thompson earned second-team honors.
> View Results

Men's Water Polo
Four men’s water polo players earned all-conference honors. David Thomas was named to the first team, Daniel Wann and Daniel Burdiak earned second-team honors and Cole Rubin earned honorable mention. In women’s water polo, Kim Alvarado was named to the South Coast Conference first team. Lauren Gottschalk and Cambria Serrano earned second-team honors.

In football, first-team honors went to Kenneth Davis. Second team honorees include: Azizullah Fifita, Ralph Harvey, Jr., Mikey Jurado, Tanner Blain and Eddie Garcia. Cory Sanicky and Kendell Sparks were named honorable mention.