ECC Athletics – Warriors Year in Review

El Camino College students had an amazing year! Five teams won conference titles, with several coaches and student-athletes earning top honors. Academically, 171 student-athletes were honored as Scholar-Ballers by earning at least a 3.0 GPA and four teams (baseball, men’s golf, men’s and women’s cross-country) qualified and were nominated as CCCAA Scholar Team Candidates (team GPA above a 3.0).

Sophomores Shontalene Trudeau (women’s basketball) and Teddy Kassa (men’s cross country and track and field) were named the ECC Student-Athletes of the Year. Trudeau was a second-team all-state selection and the South Coast Conference (SCC) Co-Player of the Year. Kassa was the SCC Athlete of the Meet, winning two conference track titles and a Southern California track title.

It all started in the fall as women’s volleyball won its fifth-straight conference title and 26th overall. They swept through the SCC with a perfect 14-0 record. Head coach Le Valley Pattison was named the SCC Coach of the Year for the 13th time. Sophomore Kim Haney was the SCC Most Valuable Player and a Second-Team AVCA All-American. Their run ended to eventual state champion Irvine Valley in the third round of playoffs.

Men’s soccer was next to take a conference title. It was the first for the Warriors in the sport since 1991 and sixth overall. Head coach John Britton was the SCC Coach of the Year. They earned the No. 3 seed in the Southern California Regional Playoffs but were upset by Southwestern in the first round. They finished with an overall record of 9-2-10.

Women’s basketball, led by Trudeau and SCC Coach of the Year Steve Shaw, won its second conference title in school history and first since 2005. They lost in the third round of playoffs to East LA. They won the SCC-South and earned the automatic berth into the playoffs.

In the spring, women’s swimming won its fifth conference title and first since 2002, edging East LA, 605-568. The women finished ninth at the state meet, setting many school records throughout the season. They were led by sophomore Martina Exlerova all season on the relay teams, freestyle and backstroke events.

Under first-year head coach Jessica Rapoza, the softball team had arguably its best season in school history. The Warriors won their second conference title and first since 1989. They advanced to the Super Regional finals before falling to No. 1 Palomar. Rapoza was named the SCC Coach of the Year and the Southern California Coach of the Year. Sophomore Reina Trejo was the SCC Pitcher of the Year and named to the all-state team, along with sophomore Tori Garcia who was named an NFCA All-American.

The men’s volleyball team went 18-4 and was the state runner-up, falling to Santa Monica in the CCCAA State Championship finals. They finished second in the Western State Conference. Newcomers freshmen Peter Nordel and Cesar Medina were named to the all-state team, having huge impacts in their first year as Warriors.

Men’s diver Shane Guerrero was named the SCC Diver of the Year and Jose Bahena was named the SCC Diving Coach of the Year. Guerrero won SCC titles on both the 1M and 3M and the Regional title on the 1M. At the state meet, he was fourth on the 1M and seventh on the 3M.

Track and Field’s Teddy Kassa earned a third-place finish at the state track and field championships in the 3,000 steeplechase and placed fourth in the 10,000. Several of his teammates had top finishes at state, with Daniel York-Mouton placing second in the 400. Chris Graham took fourth in the 110 hurdles. The women’s 1600 relay placed second, Haley Heinemann was third in the 3,000 steeplechase and Sara Curren was fourth in the pole vault. Assistant coach Kevin Hughley was named the SCC Assistant Coach of the Year.

The men’s and women’s tennis teams sent 10 student-athletes to the state tournament. Sophomore Rose Sgolsutyatorn, who fought injuries all season, finished strong, advancing to the Round of 16 in singles.

Three men’s golfers qualified for the Regional tournament: Michael Ozawa, Cody Nakazaki and Kevin Oshiro by finishing as top individuals at the PCAC Championships.

The CCCAA sponsored women’s sand volleyball for the first time in the spring of 2015. The Warriors, led by Coach Pattison, placed second in the Orange Empire Conference – Kerry Walsh Jennings Division. Brooke Russell and Nickeisha Williams advanced to the state individual championships and fell to the championship team from IVC in the semifinals.

Several student-athletes have already committed to a four-year college for Fall 2015 to continue their academic and/or athletic careers. While some are still deciding, several sports have athletes already on campuses. Tanner Blain (San Diego State) and Joe Anderson (Ohio University) from the football team started the spring semester at their respective schools.

Other football players who have committed: Ralph Harvey Jr. (Houston), Raphael Lawson-Gayle (SW Minnesota State), Marcus Manelepa (Hawai’i), Davion Shelton (SW Minnesota State) and Andre Taylor (Montana Tech).

Women’s volleyball players Darlene Lee and SukeKalena Tafoa have both committed to Cal State East Bay.

Casey Wood from men’s volleyball is heading to Missouri Valley College.

See a full list of where all the student-athletes have currently committed.

Scholar-Baller List.