El Camino College **Associated Students Organization Senate Meeting Agenda October 12th, 2018** Alondra Room 9:00 - 10:00 a.m.

Public Participation: Members of the Public are invited to speak concerning any item of business on this agenda prior to or during the Committee's discussion of the item, and always prior to the Committee taking action on the item. For matters not listed on the agenda that are under the Committee's jurisdiction, members of the public are invited to address the Committee during Public Comment. Please, limit your comments to no more than 2 minutes.

- I. Call to Order
- II. Roll Call

III Iton Cun
Voting Members of the Senate (15)
Chinua Taylor-Pearce (chair) Wiley Wilson Sean Min Joseph Mardesich
Michelle Ohia Carlos Anzaldo Marilyn Valdez Mahfuza Abdulkader Megan I
Hodari Harris Andrew Leon-Bercovich Danny Lainez Angel RojasJohn
Jacob DananMarissa Hernandez-Gomez
<u>Advisors</u>
Dr. Gregory Toya Chris Dela CruzMari Baquir
III. Approval of the Minutes
IV. Public Comment on Non-Agenda Items
V. Approval of the Agenda

- V.
- VI. Old Business (10 minutes per item, 1 minute per comment, 2 comments per person maximum)
- VII. New Business (10 minutes per item, 1 minute per comment, 2 comments per person maximum)
 - 7.1. Removals
 - 7.1.1. The Senate will consider and approve the Removal of Court Justice Shon Lewis.
 - 7.2. Appointments
 - 7.1.1. The Senate will consider and approve the appointments of the following:

Lindsey Lee as Senator of Business

Humza Saeed as Senator of Business

Chase Tarascio as Senator of Fine Arts

Jenebrith Pastran as Senator of Fine Arts

Norman Xavier as Senator of Health Sciences

Zaid Hani as Senator of Industry and Technology

Nigel Lipps as Senator of Mathematical Sciences

Urwa Kainat as Division Council Member of Business

Isaiah Robinson as Division Council Member of Business

Ruben Sagastume as Division Council Member of Business

Alan Grynbal as Division Council Member of Fine Arts

Aya Akbik as Division Council Member of Fine Arts

Pablo Barrera as Division Council Member of Fine Arts

Kyle Kim as Division Council Member of Natural Sciences

Zoey Rouzaud as Division Council Member of Natural Sciences

Max Paredes as Division Council Member of Natural Sciences

Alexandria Rocha as Commissioner of Finance

Steven Unger as Commissioner of Student Services

Esteban Espino as Commissioner of Human Resources

Daniel Villaneuva as Commissioner of Public Relations

Sidra Masood as Court Justice

7.3. By-Law Amendments

7.3.1. The Senate will consider and amend ASO Constitution By Law Article 3 Section 11 of the Constitution:

Currently stated as: "A quorum necessary to conduct ASO Senate business shall be defined as one third of the seated voting members of the ASO Senate. In the event that a quorum is not present, the Senate shall conduct business as a committee of the whole, pending final ratification at a general meeting when quorum is present."

Voting to Amend to: "A quorum necessary to conduct ASO Senate business shall be defined as 50% +1 of the seated voting members of the ASO Senate. In the event that a quorum is not present, the Senate shall conduct business as a committee of the whole, pending final ratification at a general meeting when quorum is present."

7.4. Finance Items

- **7.4.1.** The Senate will consider and approve \$100.00 from ASO Conference Account 71-55001-00-836103-7670 for ASB workshop expenses.
- **7.4.2.** The Senate will consider and approve \$6000.00 from SR Conference Account 72-55229-00-836115-7670 for Fall GA and registration expenses.
- **7.4.3.** The Senate will consider and approve \$800.00 from AS Conference Account 71-55001-00-836103-7670 for additional CCCSAA expenses.
- **7.4.4.** The Senate will consider and approve up to \$90.00 from AS Supplies Account 71-55001-00-836101-7670 for 3 drawer file cabinet for ASO Executive Office.

VIII. Reports

8.1 – ASO Member Reports

8.2 -- ASO Committee Reports

- **8.2.1** -- Finance Committee Reports
- **8.2.2** -- Policy and Advocacy Committee Reports
- **8.2.3** -- Activities Committee Reports
- **8.2.4** -- Publicity Committee Reports
- **8.2.5** -- Initiatives Committee Reports
- **8.2.6** -- Sustainability Committee Reports
- 8.3 ICC Reports
- 8.4 -- SEAC Reports
- 8.5 Advisor Reports

IX. Public Comment on Non-Agenda Items

X. Adjournment