Department Banner
 

WELCOME TO EL CAMINO COLLEGE

EXTENDED OPPORTUNITY PROGRAMS & SERVICES (EOPS)


 Celebrating over 45 years of serving students and families in our communities since 1969. 


 

EOPS Logo

Mission Statement

Extended Opportunity Programs & Services (EOPS) at El Camino College is dedicated to the delivery of a comprehensive program that encourages the enrollement, retention, and transfer of students who are challenged by language, social, economic, and educational disadvantages. 

EOPS is designed for the sole purpose of enhancing the success of students in meeting their educational goals and objectives. As a comprehensive program, EOPS is driven by a philosophy of providing services that are "over and above in addition to" services available to all students. EOPS strives for innovative and creative ways to enhance and encourage students' academic success and excellence, while fostering the student's personal growth and developement. 

Program Legacy

EOPS was established in 1969, amidst the struggle for civil rights and racial equality. Students and community activists held demoonstrations to protest the under-representation of minorities and low-income students in higher education. In response to the social and political pressure, the state of California passed Senate Bill 164 and amended the Title 5 regulations, to authorize community colleges to develop the EOPS program for the purpose of supporting economically and educationally disadvantaged students in the community college system. 

Since then, EOPS has been operating under the philisophy that everyone has the potential to learn. Necessary support and retention activities were developed to include intensive bilingual counseling, assistance in applying for financial aid, tutoring, summer enrichment and retention programs, book services, emergency loans and special orientations. 

 

Attention to all Students. . . 

EOPS is Now Accepting Applications for Fall 2016. 

Please click here for an application or stop by SCC-203 to pick-up an application. 

 

EOPS is Now Hiring for Multiple Student Positions.

Students intrested in working for EOPS, please click here to see our job announcement flyer. Please contact Sandy C. Carbajal, Program Coordinator for more information. 

 

Staff Information

 ECC Student Support Services Division

Student Services Center

Rooms 201-203

View Campus Map

 

Contact Information

Administration (310) 660-3466

Counseling (310) 660-3464

Tutoring (310) 660-7088

Outreach (310) 660-9007

 

Ngozi Akosia
nakosia@elcamino.edu

Brenda Alvarez
balvarez@elcamino.edu

Anna Brochet
abrochet@elcamino.edu

David Brown
dmbrown@elcamino.edu

Sandy Carbajal
scarbajal@elcamino.edu

Valerie Doby
vdoby@elcamino.edu

Peggy Ginocchio
pginocch@elcamino.edu

Edith Gutierrez
egutierrez@elcamino.edu                                                            

Summer 2016 Hours of Operation 

El Camino College will be closed for 8 consecutive Fridays starting June 10 through July 29.

Monday                                   8:00am to 5:30pm
Tuesday                                  8:00am to 5:30pm
Wednesday                             8:00am to 6:30pm
Thursday                                 8:00am to 5:30pm
Friday                                      9:00am to 1:00pm

Linda Massarotti
lmassaro@elcamino.edu

Maria Ramirez
maramirez@elcamino.edu

Regina Robinson
rrobinso@elcamino.edu

Dexter Vaughn
dvaughn@elcamino.edu

Karen Weber
kweber@elcamino.edu

 Last Published 5/31/16