AB 540
skip to main content
  MAP MYECC CANVAS APPLY

Undocumented Student Resources

 

  

If you are a student who identifies as undocumented and are pursuing a college education, this page can help you understand how to access and request financial aid at El Camino College, locate scholarships, university grants and outside resources. Dream on!

 

 

AB 540 is a law that provides in-state tuition benefits for undocumented and out-of-state students who attend or will attend a public university in California. 

Under California law AB 540, certain nonresident students are exempt from paying nonresident supplemental tuition.

If you're granted an AB 540 exemption, you will be charged in-state tuition and fees, and not the supplemental tuition charged to nonresidents.

Resident (in-state) Tuition:
(applies to AB 540 eligible students) 
$46 per unit

Non-Resident (out-of-state) Tuition
$331 per unit    

Who is eligible?

Students (including undocumented students) who, for various reasons, are classified as nonresidents may be eligible.

To qualify for AB 540 status, students must also meet the following eligibility requirements: 

  1. Student must have attended a high school (public or private) in California for three or more years
  2. Student must have graduated from a California high school or attained the equivalent (GED or CA HS Proficiency exam)
  3. Student must be enrolled in an accredited California Institution of Higher Education
  4. Student must file an AB 540 California Nonresident Tuition Exemption Request Form  that includes an affidavit stating they have filed (or will file) an application to legalize as soon as they are able to do so. Completed forms must be submitted to the Admissions and Records Office located in the Student Services building
  5. Submit a copy of your high school diploma and sealed high school transcripts to the El Camino College Admissions office for verification.

 * SB 68 expands AB 540 to enable students to count years spent at a California Community College and Adult School towards AB 540 eligibility. Additionally, the bill will allow the completion of an Associate’s Degree or satisfaction of the minimum requirements to transfer to the University of California (UC) or California State University (CSU) to meet the degree or unit requirements. These new eligibility criteria expand possibilities for students educated in CA to qualify for in-state tuition and statebased financial aid at CCCs, CSUs, and UCs.

If you previously were not eligible for AB 540 status, you may be eligible with the expansion to AB 540 with SB 68. Please check with the ECC Admissions Office for details.

If I am undocumented am I eligible for financial aid?

If you meet the AB 540 eligibility requirements, you may be eligible to receive state based financial aid as well as scholarships. It is important to complete the California Dream Act Application every year before March 2nd to be considered for a California Promise Grant (which pays for the cost of tuition) as well as Cal Grants (additional cash state aid). For additional Financial aid information click here.

Submit a CA Dream Act


Submit AB 540 

El Camino College AB 540 Checklist

Complete following steps if you think you meet AB 540 eligibility. If you are not sure you can use this tool to help you see if you may be eligible to pay in-state tuition. Please note that the ECC Admissions Office makes all final decisions regarding eligibility.

Checkmark imageComplete the El Camino College application.

Checkmark imageApply for Financial Aid by submitting the CA Dream Act Application online by the March 2nd deadline.

Checkmark imageSubmit the California Nonresident Tuition Exemption Request Form to the Admissions Office along with an unofficial high school transcript. If your transcript does not have your graduation date you must also bring your  high school diploma to the Admissions Office.

Checkmark imageComplete the Math and English placement survey through your MyECC account, complete an Orientation, and meet with a Counselor.

Checkmark imageConnect with a support program such as First Year Experience (FYE), Puente, and EOPS

Checkmark image Check out the UndocuWarriors club AHEAD Club Instagram Page @undocuwarriors

Click here to print a copy!

 


AB 540, Undocumented Student, and DREAMer Advocates/Allies:

Cynthia Mosqueda 
cmosqueda@elcamino.edu
FYE Faculty Coordinator
(310) 660-3075
Rene Lozano 
rlozano@elcamino.edu
Transfer Center Coordinator
Jaime Gallegos 
jgallegos@elcamino.edu
FYE Advisor/ Counselor
(310) 660-3593 ext: 3608
Marco Colom
mcolom@elcamino.edu
Financial Aid Specialist
Lillian Justice  
ljustice@elcamino.edu
Registrar, Admissions & Records
(310) 660-3593 ext:6960
Lizet Salazar 
lsalazar@elcamino.edu
EOPS Advisor
(310) 660-3593 ext: 5847
Maribel Hernandez 
mhernadez@elcamino.edu
Puente Counselor/Coordinator
Ruby Padilla 
rpadilla@elcamino.edu
The Opportunity Project Counselor
Lesley Meza  
lmeza@elcamino.edu 
Counselor
(310) 660-3593 ext. 5298
Veronica Palafox 
vpalafox@elcamino.edu
Outreach & School Relations
(310) 660-3487
Ricky Gonzalez 
rigonzalez@elcamino.edu
Counseling Staff
Jessica Garcia 
jpino@elcamino.edu
EOPS/CARE & CalWORKs Staff
(310) 660-3464
Pornsakdi Thammaraks
pthammaraks@elcamino.edu
FYE Counselor
Amy Herrschaft
aherrschaft@elcamino.edu
Counselor
(310) 660-3593 ext. 6049
Rocio Diaz 
rodiaz@elcamino.edu
The Opportunity Project Counselor
Scott Kushigemachi
skushigemachi@elcamino.edu
Associate Dean, Humanities
(310) 660-3593 ext: 3018
Joe Hardesty
jhardesty@elcamino.edu
Fine Arts Instructor
(310) 660-3593 ext: 3552
Mora Mattern
mmattern@elcamino.edu
English Instructor
(310) 660-3593 ext: 3190

 

 

More information about AB 540 status at El Camino College can be found here. The California Community Colleges Chancellor’s Office has also developed a web page containing resources and information related to DACA/undocumented students: http://www.cccco.edu/resourcesforundocumentedstudents.aspx

To receive email notifications about events please follow this link.