2018 Distinguished Awards honorees

Distinguished Alumni

Through the years, Distinguished Alumni honorees have made a positive impact on their communities and beyond and continue to inspire current students to succeed.

Distinguished Alumni logo
Distinguished Alumni Awards recognize outstanding El Camino College alumni, honoring them for their contributions to the community.Nomination Form

The El Camino College Foundation is pleased to recognize the accomplishments of our alumni through the Distinguished Alumni program.

Many of our alumni are highly respected in the community and have achieved great success in their careers and lives.

We are honored to acknowledge these individuals and remember the strong educational foundation El Camino College provided them as they embarked on their professional journey.

Call for Nominations

Nominations for induction into the Distinguished Alumni of El Camino College are accepted throughout the year.

Awards are presented every other year and active solicitation of names occurs for several months during the spring of an award year.

How to Nominate

Anyone who wishes to nominate a former student for this award may do so by:

  • Completing a nomination form
  • Include any supporting information such as resume, featured publications, certifications, awards received, etc.

Selection Criteria

Potential candidates should meet the following criteria:

  • Ten years must have elapsed since candidates attended El Camino College.
  • Candidates must have a proven track record of achievement in their chosen career, service to the community, or area of endeavor.
  • Candidates should have gained local, state, or national recognition.

Distinguished Alumni and Gratitude Awards Gala

The 2022 Distinguished Alumni and Gratitude Awards Gala, which will also celebrate El Camino College's 75th Anniversary, will be held on Friday, March 4, 2022 at the Westdrift Manhattan Beach. Join us!

Past Honorees

2018 Distinguished Awards

Rocky Chavez

Rocky Chavez

Assemblymember, 76th District Retired USMC Colonel

Dan Keenan

Dan Keenan

Senior Vice President

Keenan & Associates

Sherry Kramer

Sherry Kramer

Director of Community Affairs & Government Relations
Continental Development Corporation

Brian Wilson

Brian Wilson

The Beach Boys Musician/Singer/Songwriter/Producer 



Community Gratitude Honoree
Frances Ford
Corporate Gratitude Honoree
Edison International
Frances Ford Edison International logo



Distinguished Alumni Honor Roll

Daelea Aldrich ‘97

Barbara Ann Alexander '97

David Benoit '11

Eleanor Bersano '16

Timothy Robert Blevins ‘97

Donald Brann ‘11

James M. Brooks ‘97

Rocky Chavez '18

Fred Claire ‘97

Rudy deLeon ‘97

Cindi L. Demboski ‘97

Fred Dryer ‘97

Keith Erickson ‘97

Dennis Fayze Fandey ‘97

James A. Ferreira ‘97

E. Michael Fincke ‘12

Diane M. Fitzhugh ‘97

Monica Fredericks '14

Pat Furey ‘11

Gary L. Galiger ‘97

Don E. Gilpin ‘97

Barbara F. Gleason ‘97

James M. Hill ‘97

Robert S. Horii ‘97

Nils E. Johnson ‘97

Kathryn Joiner '97

Richard O. Keelor ‘97

Dan Keenan '18

Timothy L. King ‘97

Sherry Kramer '18

Michael Lacey ‘12

Jack Ledbetter ‘97

Russ E. Lesser ‘97

Carol M. Liess ‘97

Dennis Mangers ‘97

Patricia C. Martz ‘97

Harry A. McKellop '97

Anita McLaughlin ‘12

William J. Mealer ‘97

Candace Messer ‘12

Cliff Meidl ‘03

Mark Mercier ‘97

Chris Montez ‘12

Philip Montez ‘97

Michael Montoya ‘11

George Nakano '16

Carol Neblett ‘97

Joe Boyd Noble ‘97

Wayne Overbeck ‘97

  David Pack ‘97

Nick G. Parras '97

Maria G. Pena ‘97

Virginia T. Pfiffner ‘97

Gregory Rafijah '14

Gerald T. Robinson ‘97

Mary C. Rooney ‘97

Edmond J. Russ ‘97

James T. Russell, Jr. ‘97

Laura Schenasi '16

Ray Southstone ‘97

Jannette A. Stewart ‘97

Ryan Stonebraker '14

Megan Tatu '14

Ian D. Teague ‘97

Maxine L. Thomas ‘97

Donna Toy-Chen ‘97

Brian Wilson '18

Cinna Toy-Wohlmuth ‘11

Carlos R. Vessels ‘97

Cheryl Ann Winkler ‘97

Hope Witkowsky ‘02

Merrie (Penny) Wood ‘97

Roy T. Yanase ‘97

Beverly B. Young ‘97

William Young '16 

Gratitude Awards Honor Roll

Frances Ford '18


Edison International '18