Hero Descriptive Placeholder

College Council

Statement of Purpose

To facilitate communication and serve as a forum to exchange information that affects the college community.

Strategic Initiative C – Collaboration: Advance an effective process of collaboration and collegial consultation conducted with integrity and respect to inform and strengthen decision-making.

2020/2021 College Council Goals 

  1. Provide orientation to all new and returning members of College Council on the Council’s purpose, goals, and expectations of its members. Annually evaluate the College Council’s effectiveness.
  2. Complete/continue the development and regular updates to legally advised and legally required policies and procedures, placing priority on legally required policies and procedures.
  3. Support the Accreditation Peer Review Team visit, and the reaffirmation of accreditation of El Camino College.
  4. Be informed of the work of the President’s Advisory Committee on Race and Equity and engage in discussion on strengthening campus climate, reduction of student equity gaps using standardized disaggregated data methodologies, and enhanced inclusion and diversity at El Camino College. Explore opportunities for inclusionary spaces for cross-campus dialogue. 
  5. Receive regular updates from the COVID-19 Task Force and facilitate campus communications that inform College Council constituents on actions taken in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.
  6. Ensure College Council is informed of and discusses college initiatives including but not limited to:
    • Guided Pathways and Equity Outcomes
    • Associated Students Organization initiatives
    • Technology modernization
    • Sustainability plan progress
    • Enrollment operations and enrollment management
    • Strategic Plan implementation and monitoring
    • Facilities Master Plan developments
    • Impact of fiscal developments on the campus
  1. Strengthen campus communications by creating a College Council communications plan designed to inform stakeholders on major discussions and recommendations from College Council.


College Council meets on the first and third Mondays from 1:30-2:30 p.m. in Admin Building 150. During spring recess and summer terms, College Council meets only on Board meeting days.

Future Meeting Dates

Mondays at 1:30 p.m. in Admin 150 unless otherwise noted

Tuesday, January 19, 2021 (Board Day)
Monday, February 1, 2021
Tuesday, February 16, 2021 (Board Day)
Monday, March 1, 2021
Monday, March 15, 2021 (Board Day)
Monday, April 5, 2021
Monday, April 19, 2021 (Board Day)
Monday, May 3, 2021
Monday, May 17, 2021 (Board Day)
Monday, June 7, 2021
Monday, June 21, 2021 (Board Day) 
Tuesday, July 19, 2021 (Board Day)   
Monday, August 16, 2021 (Board Day)
Tuesday, September 7, 2021 (Board Day)
Monday, September 20, 2021
Monday, October 4, 2021
Monday, October 18, 2021 (Board Day)
Monday, November 1, 2021
Monday, November 15, 2021 (Board Day)
Monday, December 6, 2021
Monday, December 20, 2021 (Board Day) 


Chair: Dr. Brenda Thames, Superintendent/President

Note taker:  Rose Mahowald, President's Office 

McClelland, Darcie Academic Senate Representative dmcclelland@elcamino.edu  
Tomlinson, Ann Vice President Representative iingram@elcamino.edu 
Gutierrez, Edith Management Representative egutierrez@elcamino.edu 
Iino, Kelsey ECCFT Representative kiino@elcamino.edu
Mahowald, Rose Confidential Representative rmahowald@elcamino.edu
Thames, Brenda Chair bthames@elcamino.edu
Miyashiro, Jane Vice President Representative jmiyashiro@elcamino.edu 
Miyashiro, Ross Vice President Representative rmiyashiro@elcamino.edu 
Sims, Jacquelyn Vice President Representative jsims@elcamino.edu
Galan, Kenny Police Officers Association Representative kgalan@elcamino.edu
Bond, Breeanna ECCE Representative bbond@elcamino.edu 
Johnston, Dalyan ASO Representative dalyan_johnston@elcamino.edu