Student Leadership Institute

 

Are you looking to build leadership skills to level up in your life?
We are looking to help students grow as leaders - from the inside out.

Join the Student Leadership Institute!

Our FALL 2023 Cohort is full, but join us next year!

 

students participating in leadership workshops

Our Purpose

The Student Leadership Institute (SLI) at El Camino College is a semester long training program that provides students with an opportunity to tap into their strengths, skills and authentic leadership abilities through identity exploration and collaborative action projects.

   • Students will participate in a 2-Day Training Session on leadership, values, communication, strengths and teamwork.
   • Students will put their leadership skills into action by participating in Action Team projects that make a positive impact on our campus and in our communities.
   • At the end of the program, each SLI Action Team will share their experiences and present their projects at our culminating Award Ceremony and Celebratory Dinner.

Benefits of Program Participation

As a participant of SLI, you will have an opportunity to:

  • Receive a program completion certificate that will be beneficial to you for your resume and transferring;
  • Acquire and develop the skills and awareness necessary to become an effective leader on campus, in your community, and in your career;
  • Understand and develop an increased awareness of leadership styles;
  • Learn the value of networking, code-switching and interpersonal communication through program participation and interaction with fellow students, faculty, staff and administration;
  • Practice effective communication and develop confidence in your abilities to explore challenging issues;
  • Develop life skills that are essential to achieving established goals and objectives;
  • Potential participation in a local leadership conference.

Program Requirements

  • Must be a current student of El Camino College.
  • Students must participate in the entire program ( including the pinning ceremony dinner) and attend all sessions.

PART 1: Student Leadership Trainings

DAY 1: Leadership, Values & Communication
Date: Friday, October 6th, 2023
Time: 10:00 AM – 3:00 PM
Location: East Dining Room

DAY 2: Strengths, Teamwork
Date: Friday, October 27th, 2023
Time: 10:00 AM – 3:00 PM
Location: East Dining Room

PART 2: Leadership in Action

Action Team Coach Check In
Date: Friday, November 17th, 2023
Time: 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Location: Social Justice Center (Comm 204)

PART 3: Culminating Event

Pinning Ceremony Dinner with Action Team Presentations
Date: Friday, December 8th, 2023
Time: 4:00 PM – 7:00 PM
Location: East Dining Room

 

Contact Us

Monica Delgado, Coordinator
Social Justice Center
mxdelgado@elcamino.edu

Connie Zandate, Student Advisor
Student Equity and Achievement
czandate@elcamino.edu

Wiley Wilson, Specialist
Social Justice Center
wwilson@elcamino.edu

Beth Ceja, Admin Assistant
Social Justice Center

beceja@elcamino.edu 

Bessy Rodriguez, Specialist
Student Equity and Achievement
birodriguez@elcamino.edu

Mele Makalo, Coordinator
MANA Program
mmakalo@elcamino.edu

Kenny Simkins, Coordinator
LGBTQIA+ Center
ksimkins@elcamino.edu

Kandance Aragon, Specialist
Black Student Success Center
karagon@elcamino.edu

Araceli Rodriguez, Senior Clerical
Student Equity and Achievement
arrodriguez@elcamino.edu 

Questions? Contact Us

Monica Delgado

mxdelgado@elcamino.edu

310-660-3593 x7716