Hero Descriptive Placeholder

Student Leadership Institute

 

Are you looking to build leadership skills to level up in your life?

We are looking to help students grow as leaders - from the inside out.

Join the Student Leadership Institute (SLI) today!

Interest Form

Check back soon to be a part of the Fall 2022 SLI cohort.

Spring 2022 SLI flyer

Our Purpose

The Student Leadership Institute (SLI) at El Camino College provides students with an opportunity to tap into their strengths, skills and authentic leadership abilities through identity exploration, learning about leadership styles, effective communication techniques and collaboration. After the 2-Day Introductory Sessions, students will be prepared to put their leadership skills into action by participating in Action Team projects that make a positive impact on our campus and in our communities. The SLI Actions Teams will share their experiences and projects at our culminating Pinning Ceremony and Celebratory Dinner.

Benefits of Program Participation

As a participant of SLI, you will have an opportunity to:

  • Receive a program completion certificate that will be beneficial to you for your resume and transferring;
  • Acquire and develop the skills and awareness necessary to become an effective leader on campus, in your community, and in your career;
  • Understand and develop an increased awareness of leadership styles;
  • Learn the value of networking, code-switching and interpersonal communication through program participation and interaction with fellow students, faculty, staff and administration;
  • Practice effective communication and develop confidence in your abilities to explore challenging issues;
  • Develop life skills that are essential to achieving established goals and objectives;
  • Potential participation in a local leadership conference.

Program Requirements

  • Must be a current student of El Camino College.
  • Students must participate in the entire program (all three parts, including the pinning ceremony dinner) and attend all five sessions for a total of 16 hours.

PART 1: Introduction to Student Leadership

DAY 1: Leadership, Values & Communication
Date: Friday, April 1, 2022
Time: 11:00 AM – 3:00 PM
Location: East Dining Room

DAY 2: Strengths, Teamwork & Appreciation
Date: Friday, April 8, 2022
Time: 11:00 AM – 3:00 PM
Location: East Dining Room

PART 2: Leadership in Action

Action Team Meeting 1
Friday, April 22, 2022 

Location: Alondra Room

Action Team Meeting 2
Friday, April 29, 2022
Location: Alondra Room

Action Team Meeting 3
Friday, May 6, 2022
Location: Alondra Room

PART 3: Culminating Event

Pinning Ceremony and Celebratory Dinner
Date: Friday, May 20, 2022
Time: 4:00 PM – 7:00 PM
Location: East Dining Room

We are now accepting students for the Spring 2022 semester!

Interest Form Deadline: Fri, March 18, 2022

Interest Form

Contact Us

Monica Delgado, Program Coordinator
Student Equity and Achievement
mxdelgado@elcamino.edu

Connie Zandate, Student Advisor
Student Equity and Achievement
czandate@elcamino.edu

Masiel Calderon, Counselor
Student Equity and Achievement
mcalderon@elcamino.edu

Beth Ceja, Coordinator
Student Equity and Achievement

beceja@elcamino.edu 

Chris de la Cruz, Student Services Specialist
Student Development Office
chdelacruz@elcamino.edu

John Ross Gatlin, Digital Media & Design Specialist
Marketing & Communications
jgatlin@elcamino.edu

Lissette Marquez, Administrative Assistant
Special Resource Center
lmarquez@elcamino.edu

Keiana Daniel, Black Student Success Center Coordinator
Student Equity and Achievement
kedaniel@elcamino.edu

Mari Baquir, Student Services Technician
Student Development Office
mbaquir@elcamino.edu

Bessie Rodriguez, Coordinator
Student Equity and Achievement
birodriguez@elcamino.edu

Mele Makalo, Student Services Specialist
Student Equity and Achievement
mmakalo@elcamino.edu

Araceli Rodriguez, Office Aide
Student Equity and Achievement
arrodriguez@elcamino.edu 

Questions? Contact Us

Monica Delgado

mxdelgado@elcamino.edu

310-660-3593 x7716