Hero Descriptive Placeholder

Planning & Budget Committee

Mission

According to the Making Decisions Document 2020-25, the mission of the Planning and Budget Committee (PBC) is to assure that campus-wide annual planning and budgeting are integrated and evaluated while driven by the mission and strategic initiatives set forth in the Strategic Plan. The PBC also makes recommendations to the Superintendent/President on all campus-wide annual planning and budgeting issues.

Membership

According to the Making Decisions Document 2020-25, the College constituencies that compose PBC’s membership are the following:

Function Amount Constituency
Co-Chair 1 Vice President of Administrative Services
Co-Chair 1 Director of Institutional Research & Planning
Member 2 Academic Senate
Member 2 Management
Member 2 Classified Staff
Member 1 ECC Federation of Teachers
Member 1 ECC Classified Employees/ECCE
Member 1 Confidential employees
Member 1 Police Officers Association/POA
Member 1 Associated Student Organization/ASO
Total 13  

Each PBC member appoints an alternate member to participate in the meeting in case members cannot attend. Additionally, each co-chair appoints two support members.  

Committee Roles and Responsibilities

Roles

Responsibilities

Reviewer

Develop an understanding of the College’s institutional planning processes, revenue, and expenditures as a foundation for participating in the planning and budgeting process

Identify emerging trends and/or needs that have a College-wide budgetary impact

Review the tentative and final annual budgets in its development stages

Review annual budget implementation updates to help ensure all areas  are stewarding their budgets to make progress towards their annual goals

Safeguard

Ensure that the College’s annual budget is driven by institutional-level plans and is directed to achieve institutional goals

Ensure that annual planning, resource allocation, and budgeting are linked

Recommender

Make recommendations regarding the College’s annual budget to the Superintendent/President

Make recommendations to the Superintendent/President regarding the progress of annual plan implementation

Reporter

Report PBC’s meetings key points to the campus community and other College committees.

 

PBC Individual Members' Role and Responsibilities

Roles

Responsibilities

Reviewer

Review all meeting materials and minutes prior to meetings

Keep informed and be prepared for discussion around meeting agenda items

Reporter

Report PBC’s meetings key points to the constituent group represented

Bring to PBC meetings annual planning and budgeting issues brought up by the constituent group represented

Representative

Make recommendations regarding matters of annual planning and budgeting in the best interest of the broader College while considering the interests of their constituent group

 

Committee Operating Guidelines

The operating guidelines of the Planning and Budget Committee include:

1. Length of Member’s Term

2. Meeting Frequency

3. Quorum

4. Proposal of Agenda Topic

5. Decision-Making Process (voting)

6. Communication to the ECC Community

7. Procedure to evaluate processes for governance, decision making, and communication

For detailed information about the PBC’s operating guidelines, please review the Committee’s charter.

 

Final Budget


Meeting Information

Meetings are held on third Thursday of every month unless otherwise noted.

Location: Zoom Call
Time: 1:00-2:30

Fiscal Year 2020-21
October 15, 2021
November 18, 2021


Committee Membership

Members Email Representation
Ann Tomlinson atomlinson@elcamino.edu Co-Chair
Viviana Unda vunda@elcamino.edu Co-Chair
Amy Grant agrant@elcamino.edu Management
Debra Breckheimer dbreckheimer@elcamino.edu Management
Gary Robertson grobertson@elcamino.edu Campus Police
Roy Dietz rdietz@elcamino.edu ECCE
Kelsey Iino klino@elcamino.edu ECCFT
Darcie McClelland dmcclelland@elcamino.edu Academic Senate
Josh Troesh jtroesh@elcamino.edu Academic Senate
Grace Clendenin grace_clendenin@elcamino.edu ASO - Student Association
Shobhana Warrier sawarrie@elcamino.edu Confidential 
Lissette Marquez lmarquez@elcamino.edu Classified Staff
David Mussaw dmussaw@elcamino.edu Classified Staff

Alternate Members

Members Email Representation
vacant   ECCE
Brizset Giles bgiles@elcamino.edu ECCFT
Julie Bourlier jbourlier@elcamino.edu Management
Jose Anaya
janaya@elcamino.edu Management
Ruben Lopez rlopez@elcamino.edu Campus Police
Sidney Porter sporter@elcamino.edu Academic Senate
Evan Hess ehess@elcamino.edu Academic Senate
Dalyan Johnston daylan_johnston@elcamino.edu ASO - Student Association
Rose Mahowald  rmahowald@elcamino.edu Confidential
Breeanna Bond bbond@elcamino.edu Classified Staff
vacant   Classified Staff